To Documentation Index

TMEdit  The Ultimate App-V Package Editor

 


Menu: File: Save

On the Save tab of the file menu you can save off the App-V package.  This will generate an updated App-V file, plus updated Deployment and User Config.xml files when appropriate.

Usually the external xml files are benign - meaning that you don't need to import them into the App-V server or when using the Client PowerShell interfaces.  But you must have them if you intend to deploy via Configuration Manager. The only (current) exception is if you make use of the Terminate Child Processes feature (required due to a bug in the current App-V clients that ignores this setting inside the internal AppXManifest file).  

There are several options presented on the tab:

Compression:  We recommend the default "Fastest Compression".  For more information, see this link for details.

Save as New Version: We recommend using the default options which will create a new version of the existing package, retaining the Package Name and PackageID, while generating a new VersionID and Version String.  Although no version of the product ever used the term, traditionally we have referred to this method up updating a package as "Active Upgrade". 

Disabling the SaveAsNewVersion checkbox updates the package using the same VersionID and VersionString. While we do not recommend using this option once the package has left test phase, it is an option that you have never had before.  Keep in mind that an App-V client cannot distinguish between the old and new versions of a package if these IDs do not change, so never use this package on a system with the original!

Save in Parallel Folder:  You should never overwrite files when editing App-V packages. By default, the .AppV file plus the two XML files will be placed in a new directory parallel to the one that the package was opened from.

So if the original package was named \\Server\xxx\yyy\foo.AppV, with the defaults the updated package will be stored at \\Server\xxx\foo_2\foo2.AppV.

 

Other Notes:

  • The package history file inside the package is updated with the version change.
  • The Registry.dat file is repacked in this process.  Even if no registry changes are made, this may reduce the size of the registry because of how the sequencer creates it.
  • The Tool Config tab has an option to request that the temporary ingredients folder be deleted upon package save.  If the option is not set a button will appear on the save page after the file is saved. The saving process will make backup copies of the xml and dat files before making changes, and you can use external tools to troubleshoot issues or see exactly what changed. The option to not automatically clear out this folder is provided for this purpose.